So Today It Begins!

So today it begins.  A bit of my life becoming, oh, so public, as I endeavor to share my experiences and journey as a woman going through kidney failure.  I won’t lie.  It’s been the roughest time of my life.  I still smile and strive to make the best of it, but there, in the dark recesses of my mind I worry and wonder what will become of me and my life.

Just over a year ago I suddenly went into the Emergency Room for kidney failure.  What a shocking and life-altering event!  Time has flown by, and I never would’ve dreamed that I’d be a dialysis patient, surrendering 14 hours per week, every week, to being confined to a vinyl chair to keep me alive.

I’ve researched, studied, and weighed out my options for recovering.  Doctor, doctors, and more doctors:  none with an answer as to why my kidneys failed in the first place.  No underlying cause has been found.  I have my theories, but more on that another time.

How to keep living a full life?  My choice?  I’ve decided to get an autologous stem cell treatment.  The amount of research, study and treatments in the field are impressive and hopeful.  I believe that stem cell treatments will forever change the face of medicine across our little blue planet.

Now I have to raise the funds for treatment.  Paypal and YouCaring seem to be the best choices.  Widgets, profiles, accounts, descriptions, and postings have become my new projects.  I’m almost all done setting it up.

My prayers to make a complete recovery continue…..

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol W
    Jun 26, 2012 @ 05:01:44

    Hey JJ,
    Cudos to you for not lying down and accepting defeat! You are so courageous! My thoughts and prayers are with you. Be strong + stay strong.

    ~Namaste, c

    Reply

  2. jennysvie
    Jun 27, 2012 @ 17:26:03

    Thank you Carol! You know I’ve never been one to give up easily. I am encouraged by my friends and community supporting me.

    Reply

  3. doris lim
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 00:47:13

    You are one lucky women. My husband has been on dialysis for 3 years. There are times during dialysis , things don’t goes too well. lately he was in and out of hospital. I am glad there are stem cells from body harvest to give life back to the kidney. I would like to see how it works,

    Reply

  4. tobias
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 01:54:38

    Hello Jennifer, I’m very curious, What led up to or brought on your kidney failure? I can’t imagine that is was a sudden, in the middle of a day, out of nowhere kind of thing. Were you ill for sometime prior to the failure? Was it the result of something you consumed? Was it collateral or repercussion damage from another health problem or something else like a physical accident?

    Reply

    • jennysvie
      Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:34:55

      Tobias,
      My kidney failure was sudden. I do not have any underlying medical conditions, and it was completely unexpected. Even after a kidney biopsy and a lot of tests over the last fourteen months, doctors still don’t know what caused them to fail. I will continue also try to answer questions via my new public facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/JenniferVStory. Thank you for your support!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

